Penarth Dock, South Wales - 150 years - the heritage and legacy  
Penarth Dock, South Wales - the heritage & legacy . . .

about . . .

Volume Nine - Pre-Victorian to the present day - even more aspects - Swing Bridge Connections : Penarth Dock, River Taff and Glamorganshire Canal . . .

• June 1865 - The New Penarth Dock . . . . 'But the Company (TVR) are not intent on creating a rival town so much as facilitating communications between the existing town and port (Cardiff) and their new works (Penarth Dock). They went to Parliament in 1861 and obtained powers to construct a road from Cardiff Docks to Penarth.

In pursuance of these powers they some time since gave out a contract for making a road from Cardiff docks to a point intersecting their road to their temporary offices, near the iron-works below Grangetown.

This road is rapidly advancing to completion, and will be open for traffic next autumn. Among the works which it involves are two swing bridges, one of wide span across the river Taff and the other across the Glamorganshire Canal.

When this section of the road is finished the company will prolong it to Penarth, so as to communicate with their harbour and docks, and will place on it a street rail-road, to be occupied by omnibuses drawn by horses, such as are in use in all American cities, and for the successful working of which class of conveyance the level character of the road offers peculiar facility.' - Cardiff Times [019] [361] 9th June 1865.

1865 - Map enlargement showing the 'New Road' from the north shore of the River Ely to the Bute Docks via the TVR Temporary Offices near the iron-works at Grangetown.

• March 1866 - The address of Messrs. James & Price is confirmed in an advertisement placed in the Cardiff Times for a 'Sale by Auction' of materials and machines etc. to be held on Wednesday 4th April 1866 at their yard situated in Penarth Road, Near West Wharf, Cardiff.

The advertisement also advises that a second auction is to be held later the same day : 'Contractor's Plant used by them in connection in the construction of the New Road from the Docks to Penarth, which has lately been completed at the works, alongside of the Penarth Railway, near the Grangetown iron-works.' - Cardiff Times [019] [361] 23rd March 1866.

 

Home
About
Contact

contents . . .
Introduction
Contents

information . . .
Search this site
Contributions
Links
Recent Updates

150 years of Penarth Dock History and Heritage

© 2014 - 2025 - penarth-dock.org.uk - all rights reserved - web design by Dai the Rat